BioWare Founders Being Inducted into AIAS Hall of Fame

December 20, 2010

By Jimmy Thang

The Acadamy of Interactive Arts & Sciences will being inducting both doctors Ray Muzyka and Greg Zeschuk into its highly-regarded Hall of Fame. Muzyka and Zeschuk, who together founded developer BioWare in February of 1995, are being inducted for "their emotionally engaging and detailed cinematic games."

The AIAS' Hall of Fame began in 1998. The first recipient of the award was Nintendo's iconic Mario-creator Shigeru Miyamoto. In addition to Miyamoto, Muzyka and Zeschuk will be joined alongside other notable AIAS Hall of Fame alums such as Firaxis Games' Sid Meier, Final Fantasy pioneer Hironobu Sakaguchi, The Sims creator Will Wright, Sega's Yu Suzuki, and more.

BioWare’s Greg Zeschuk and Ray Muzyka

The two's foray into the Hall of Fame will mark the organization's first inducted pair into the AIAS' esteemed club. They will respectively represent the organizations 14th and 15th inductees.

Since creating the Edmonton-based development studio, the two have gone on to create groundbreaking games for the PC, many of which include: Baldur's Gate (1998), Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn (2000), Neverwinter Nights (2002), Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (2003), Jade Empire (2005), Mass Effect (2007), and more.